Life is Good

Today was not the best day at work that I have had for a while. I was feeling low and experiencing the backlash of having had a particularly good 3 days earlier,for every ying there is a yang.

It was a classic English spring day, the warmest it had been all year. The sun shone in a china blue sky that was dotted with clumps of white cotton wool clouds, daffodils were nodding their yellow heads in the gentle breeze. I happened to be by a small park so I decided to rest for a while and gather myself together to sort my head out. I began to take stock of what I did have,my family, my friends, where I live, my job, yes it may be that I am not where I thought I would be career-wise but I did have a job ,and what would make it better was for somebody to say ‘Yes’. That was it, all I needed to get back on track was a sale, everything else in my life was OK, brilliant.  It was at that point that an image came into my head of a large eagle soaring higher and higher and it gave me the inspiration to write  this poem.

Within an hour I had a phone call from a prospective customer, we made an appointment and that evening I completed the sale. Life is good.


Life is Good

Enthusiastic thermals lift me to the stratosphere.

Where the air is clear and I can see and breath more clearly.

What is all around me has been here for an eternity.

Then I had fog filled eyes, but not now.

This sunny disposition burns off the cold grey blanket that has shrouded my existence.

A new dawn, a life reborn.

The possibilities are tremendous,

My horizons are endless,

Life is good.

 

Geoff Higgins 2014

This entry was posted in Britain, depression, Mental Health, My Poetry, Positive thoughts, Sales, ying and yang and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment